top of page

Garden Planning Party 2016

Who: Seed Fanatics

What: Seed Swap/ Sale

When: Saturday, January 30, 2016 10AM-12PM

Where: Cowiche Canyon Guest House (261 Ehler Rd, 98908)

Why: We like to celebrate.

How: Just come on by. No RSVP necessary.

Cost: Event is free. Seeds are available for trade or purchase.

As you may or may not be aware, the last Saturday of every January is officially designated as National Seed Swap Day.

I don't know about you, but I've got a ton of seeds and new seed catalogs, and far more gardening enthusiasum than is probably appropriate in January.

With this in mind, I'm inviting anyone in a similar situation to join me this Saturday, January 30, at our guest house for our first seed swap of 2016. I'll have coffe and tea on hand, and lots of little seed packets of my own. I'll also have pens, tape and some wee envelopes. Please come on by and bring any seeds you have to trade with you. If you don't have much on hand but still want to come pick up sample seed packs, that's A-OK too! Just pilfer from your laundry money or dig around in the couch. My sample packs will be available for $.25 each.

Never been to a seed swap before? Don't be nervous. You're in good company, because I've never hosted one before. But I did read this great little article about how to prepare for a seed swap and examine the invasive species list, too, so I'm feeling pretty confident. If other participants do the same, I think it's bound to be fun and productive, if not perfect.

Below is a sample list of the seeds I have to share. They're pictured in first photo above, but they're more organized than that now. I swear. I won't bother to list them all here, because if I do, I'll never get around to getting them nicely repackaged for trade. If there's something in particular you're in the market for, leave a comment and I'll let you know if I've got it.

All are heirloom varieties and either ordered online, gathered from my own garden, or donated by friends. I don't necessarily have a lot of each, so if there's something you want, I'd reccoment you arrive on the earlier side.

Amaranth (green & red)

North Georgia Candy Roaster Squash

Golden Gate Pole Beans

Painted Lady Runner Beans

Black Futsu Squash

Long of Naples Squash

Corazon de Chirique Squash

Red Hmong Cucumber

Giant Cape Gooseberry

Filius Blue Pepper

Rose Milkweed

Daikon Radish

California Wonder Pepper

Parisienne Carrots

Pepperone de Cuneo Peppers

Corno di Toro Giallo Peppers

Goat Horn Peppers

Cayenne Peppers

Elderberry (asst. varieties)

Serrano Peppers

Lovage

Cilantro

Lettuce Leave Basil

Tansy

Rue

Thai Holy Basil

Dog Rose

Stinging Nettles

New Jersey Tea

+ 35 varietys of heirloom tomatoes

It's been a long winter and I look forward to seeing you. Let's get this 2016 garden party started.

xo,

Maria

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page